One feature of facebook has exposed that Social networking website Facebook keeps a record of users' former lovers, if you had entered data earlier.
This incident got a lime light when some users got and unpleasant surprise when Photo Memories sidebar, showed up old photographs of ex-wives or husbands.
But now facebook is said to block that feature.
Sam Odio, Facebook's project manager said: "While users may still see Photo Memories of their former romantic partners if they didn't declare the relationship on Facebook - as well of their current partner with that person's former partners - the change should help heal the heartache for many users."
According to Facebook's policy: "Even after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, or it was copied or stored by other users."
Facebook says the fact that it maintains a log of people's romantic associations should not be a cause for concern.
"There is nothing Facebook could do with this information, just as a doctor couldn't share your past medical history with someone else," a spokesman said.
The New York Times has also said if Facebook disables a user's profile, it amounts to seizing his or her personal information. Even though the user vanishes from the site, yet Facebook retains the data which that user had submitted.
- IANS Inputs